Email Updates


Track & Field - Coed Varsity
News | Announcements | Schedule | Roster | Photo Gallery | Videos

Ingrid Joseph Receives SWW's First Ever Gatorade Player of The Year Honor

CHICAGO (June 22, 2017) In its 32nd year of honoring the nation’s best high school athletes, The Gatorade Company, today announced Ingrid Joseph of School Without Walls as its 2016-17 Gatorade District of Columbia Girls Track & Field Athlete of the Year. Joseph is the first Gatorade District of Columbia Girls Track & Field Athlete of the Year to be chosen from School Without Walls.

The award, which recognizes not only outstanding athletic excellence, but also high standards of academic achievement and exemplary character demonstrated on and off the track, distinguishes Joseph as District of Columbia’s best high school girls track & field athlete. Now a finalist for the prestigious Gatorade National Girls Track & Field Athlete of the Year award to be announced in June, Joseph joins an elite alumni association of state track & field award-winners, including Lolo Jones (1997-98, Roosevelt High School, Iowa), Allyson Felix (2002-03, Los Angeles Baptist High School, Calif.), Robert Griffin III (2006-07, Copperas Cove High School, Texas), Grant Fisher (2013-14 & 2014-15, Grand Blanc High School, Mich.) and Candace Hill (2014-15, Rockdale County High School, Ga.).

The 5-foot-3 junior sprinter captured a pair of individual titles this spring, leading the Penguins to an eighth-place finish at the District of Columbia State Athletic Association championships. Joseph won the 100-meter dash with a time of 12.26 seconds and the 200-meter dash in 24.95. Her winning effort in the 200 at the DCSAA championships was the fastest clocking in the District in 2017 at the time of her selection.

Joseph has volunteered locally on behalf of youth track and field programs. “Ingrid Joseph is an amazing track & field athlete,” said School Without Walls head coach Mike Gaske. “The most incredible part is that she is only going to get better as she gets older.”

Joseph has maintained a 3.37 GPA in the classroom. She will begin her senior year of high school this fall.

The Gatorade Player of the Year program annually recognizes one winner in the District of Columbia and each of the 50 states that sanction high school football, girls volleyball, boys and girls cross country, boys and girls basketball, boys and girls soccer, baseball, softball, and boys and girls track & field, and awards one National Player of the Year in each sport. The selection process is administered by the Gatorade Player of the Year Selection Committee, which work with top sport-specific experts and a media advisory board of accomplished, veteran prep sports journalists to determine the state winners in each sport.

Joseph joins recent Gatorade District of Columbia Girls Track & Field Athletes of the Year Page Lester (2015-16, National Cathedral School), Jeryne Fish (2014-15, National Cathedral School), Deonna Diggs (2013-14, Woodrow Wilson High School), Emily Kaplan (2012-13, Georgetown Visitation Preparatory School), Kiah Seymour (2011-12, Archbishop Carroll High School), Destiny Phillips (201011, Dunbar High School), Angela Bonham (2009-10 & 200809, Dunbar High School), JuaShaunna Kelly (2007-08, Roosevelt High School), and DeAnna Brown (2006-07, Dunbar High School) among the state’s list of former award winners.

As a Gatorade Player of the Year, Ingrid will be able to select a national or local youth sports organization to receive a grant as part of the Gatorade Play It Forward program. Every Gatorade Player of the Year state winner receives a $1,000 grant to donate and will have the opportunity to enter for an additional $10,000 spotlight grant by writing a brief essay explaining why their selected organization deserves additional support. 12 spotlight grants one for each sport will be announced throughout the year.

To keep up to date on the latest happenings, become a fan of Gatorade Player of the Year on Facebook and follow us on Twitter. For more on the Gatorade Player of the Year program, including nomination information, a complete list of past winners and the announcement of the Gatorade National Player of the Year, visit www.gatorade.com/poy